The Frick Collection | Premier Painting, Sculpture & Decorative Art Museum

by NYJ Team

Some of the most outstanding art galleries are located in New York City and The Frick Collection is no exception. This small art museum is the legacy of Henry Clay Frick, a coke and steel magnate who used the fortune he gained at the turn of the 20th century to amass a stunning collection of European artwork. These masterpieces were housed in his private Fifth Avenue mansion that dates back to 1914.

When Frick died in 1919, he bequeathed his home, the furnishings and his masterpieces to establish an art gallery for the public, with the goal of encouraging the appreciation for fine arts. Today this beautiful and well preserved French-style mansion houses The Frick Collection, an outstanding collection of Western paintings, sculptures and furnishings displayed within 16 galleries. The permanent collection features celebrated works by many Old Masters acquired by Henry Clay Frick, as well as several more major pieces added to the collection by Frick’s daughter Helen Clay Frick who expanded the museum extensively after her father passed away.

The Frick Collection, which originally housed 131 paintings, has now grown to showcase a collection of more than 1100 works of art which span from the Renaissance era to the late nineteenth century. The Frick Art Reference Library, founded in 1920, is renowned for its extensive auction and exhibition catalogues.

The Frick Collection

Click for more details on The Frick Collection

A Showcase of Greats from El Greco to Goya

The Frick Collection includes renowned paintings by revered and important European artists such as Rembrandt van Rijn, Thomas Gainsborough, Titian and Francisco Goya. Art lovers can take in incredible works such as Italian Renaissance painter Giovanni Bellini’s St. Francis in Ecstasy, Piero della Francesca’s St. John the Evangelist and Diego Velázquez’s portrait of King Philip IV. An entire room is dedicated to French painter Jean-Honoré Fragonard’s sensual, sweeping series of large wall paintings The Progress of Love. Masters like El Greco, Degas and Johannes Vermeer, whose painting Mistress and Maid is the last one purchased by Frick, are just some of the artists whose works are showcased in the museum.

In addition to the stunning paintings by some of the world’s greatest artists, the museum’s permanent collection of artwork also features important sculptures (including a collection of world-renowned small bronzes) 18th century fine French furniture, works on paper, carpets, porcelains, enamels, clocks, textiles and other fine quality pieces.

Special temporary exhibitions take place each year at the museum, showcasing additional works to the museum’s permanent collection. Visitors can search The Frick Collection’s online database of the museum’s permanent pieces, which also provides weekly updated information on which artwork is currently on display, as not all pieces are on view all the time.

Fifth Avenue Splendid

Henry Clay Frick commissioned architects Carrère & Hastings to build his mansion in 1910 after purchasing a site at Fifth Avenue and East 70th Street. Construction of the property took place between 1913 and 1914, and the wealthy industrialist spent $5,000,000 on his home. By the time it was finished, the luxurious mansion spanned an entire city block.

Visitors to The Frick Collection will not only enjoy a rich visual display of artwork but they will also experience what an early 20th century Fifth Avenue mansion was like. This opulent residence features a fountain under an airy skylight in an enclosed courtyard, and the exterior is surrounded by picturesque private gardens and magnolia trees. This carefully preserved residence is decorated with 18th century French furniture, striking Italian bronzes and delicate Chinese porcelain vases, offering a beautiful, intimate and idyllic setting to admire this art exhibit.

In addition to his passion for art, Henry Clay Frick was also an ardent music lover and museum hosts a busy schedule of classical concert performances.

Visiting The Frick Collection in New York City

The Frick Collection is located within the Henry Clay Frick House on 1 East 70th Street at Fifth Avenue, next to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. For entrance fees, hours or more information on upcoming exhibitions call 212-288-0700 or visit the museum’s official website. The Frick Art Reference Library is located around the corner from The Frick Collection at 10 East 71st Street, between Madison and Fifth Avenues.

Location: at 1 East 70th Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, New York
Phone: 212-288-0700

Click to visit The Frick Collection official website.

Note: This information can change without notice. Confirm all details directly with the company in question.

Staten Island Ferry | A True New York City Bargain!

by NYJ Team

The Staten Island Ferry is one of New York City’s true bargains. The free ferry ride connects lower Manhattan with Staten Island and offers incredible views of the skyscrapers in lower Manhattan as well as Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty.

Staten Island Ferry

Click for more details on the Staten Island Ferry

History

Ferry service between lower Manhattan and Staten Island began in the early 1700’s. The original service was operated by sail-powered craft. Steam-powered ferries were not added until 1817. After several accidents, the city of New York acquired the ferry service in 1901, but kept the steam-powered ferries in service until the mid-1980’s. The ferry fare, five cents for years, increased to 25 cents in the 1980’s. After much debate, however, the fare was discontinued completely in 1997.

Staten Island Ferry Facts

• The Staten Island Ferry transports over 20 million passengers each year, an average of 70,000 per day.
• The Ferry service has been featured in a number of popular movies and TV programs, including “Working Girl” with Melanie Griffith, an “I Love Lucy” episode, and “The Secret of My Success” with Michael J. Fox.
• The Staten Island Ferry boats make approximately 33,000 trips each year.
• The original ferries were painted white, but were changed to orange for better visibility in the rain and fog.
• Old ferryboats have found new life in and around New York City – one is a restaurant in New Jersey and two are used as prisoner dormitories at Riker’s Island.

Taking the Staten Island Ferry

The Staten Island Ferry departs from Whitehall Street, near Battery Park in Lower Manhattan and arrives at the St. Georges Ferry Terminal at Richmond Terrace on Staten Island. The 5.2-mile journey is free and takes approximately 25 minutes each way. Bicycles are permitted on the lower deck at no charge, but vehicles are no longer permitted on the ferry. The Staten Island Ferry schedule operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Frequency varies with the time of day, but rarely do you have to wait more than 15 minutes for a ferry.

Parking facilities are available on Staten Island at the St. Georges Ferry Terminal. On the Manhattan side, the ferry docks near subway and bus transportation.

Visiting Staten Island

Staten Island, arguably the least well known of the five New York City boroughs, has a wealth of museums and historic sites to interest visitors arriving on the ferry. Right across from St. Georges Terminal is the Staten Island Museum. This comprehensive museum, founded in 1881, has a permanent collection including a large body of Italian Renaissance paintings; a section on the art and culture of the Lenape tribe, the first inhabitants of Staten Island; and an exhibit on the history of the Staten Island Ferry, among other things. Temporary exhibits, such as a recent display of historic baseball cards, augment the permanent collection.

Another highlight of Staten Island is Historic Richmond Town. This 100-acre living museum features 15 restored 18th and 19th century residential and commercial buildings as well as a museum, filled with objects from the island’s colorful past. Richmond Town was the site of one of the original Dutch settlements in the area and later became a British stronghold prior to the Revolutionary War. Historic Richmond Town is reached by a bus that leaves directly from the ferry terminal. Admission is modest and discounts are offered for students and seniors.

Taking the Staten Island Ferry is a delight for visitors and residents alike. The views of the city and the Statue of Liberty are some of the best in the world – and it’s all for free.

Location: 1 Whitehall Street at South Street

Click to visit Staten Island Ferry website.

Note: This information can change without notice. Confirm all details directly with the company in question.

The Noguchi Museum – by the celebrated Japanese American sculptor

by NYJ Team

This New York art museum was founded in 1985 by the celebrated Japanese American sculptor Isamu Noguchi (1904-1988). Located in the Long Island City area of Queens, the two-story Noguchi Museum spans 24,000 square-feet and houses the many works of this influential artist including his sculptures, furniture and interior designs as well as drawings and architectural models.

The Building and Sculpture Garden

The Noguchi Museum is the perfect place to visit if you are seeking serenity in hectic New York. Housed within a converted factory building, Noguchi’s works are showcased in thirteen galleries and in the outdoor sculpture garden which the museum surrounds. The stark industrial space of this former photo-engraving plant offers a dramatic backdrop for Noguchi’s works. An extensive renovation in 2004 revamped the temperature control of the building, allowing it to stay open year-round. The Noguchi Museum also features an education center as well as a museum shop and cafe.

The Noguchi Museum

Click for more details on The Noguchi Museum

Works on Display

The Noguchi Museum’s permanent collection features a stunning selection of his sculptures in a variety of materials including metal, clay, wood and stone. Visitors will experience a broad range of works from light sculptures to portrait heads to Italian marbles, as well as a selection of theatre sets, drawings, models for public works and gardens and architectural designs. The Noguchi Museum (which works together with the Isamu Noguchi Foundation in Japan) also hosts a program of visiting exhibitions and loans out works to other galleries for special shows.

Interior Design

Renowned for his creative use of space and desire to make sculpture relevant in day to day life, The Noguchi Museum also houses a special gallery dedicated to showcasing the artist’s work in furniture and interior design. Noguchi designed his first table in the 1930’s, which was commissioned by the then-president of the Museum of Modern Art for his home. The artist went on to develop many innovative furniture designs and contemporary interiors in the 1940’s. Visitors to the museum may be surprised at the several design pieces they are familiar with.

About the Artist

Isamu Noguchi was devoted to making sculpture a relevant and useful part of our world, not just static objects to be admired in galleries. He designed several sculpture gardens and children’s playgrounds in his biomorphic style of design which focuses on the power of natural life. Noguchi’s sculptures, gardens and playgrounds are points of interest in many cities in the U.S. and around the world including the Japanese Garden at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, the infamous Red Cube which stands outside the HSBC Building in Manhattan and children’s playgrounds in Atlanta, Georgia and Yokohama, Japan.

Education at the Noguchi Museum

Family programs are available at the museum including Open Studio (see website for dates and times), where families with children under 11 can explore the galleries and then create their own art with the help of museum educators. Families can drop in for Open Studio; no advance registration is required. The museum also offers an Art for Families program (families with children aged 5-11) and Art for Tots (families with children 2-4).

Visiting The Noguchi Museum

The Noguchi Museum is located at 9-01 33rd Road (between Vernon Boulevard and 10th Street) in Long Island City, New York. A gift store and café are located on-site.

Location: at 9-01 33rd Rd (between Vernon Boulevard and 10th St) in Long Island City, New York
Phone: 718-204-7088
E-mail: info@noguchi.org

Click here to visit The Noguchi Museum official website.

Note: This information can change without notice. Confirm all details directly with the company in question.