Trinity Church | Established in 1698 | A National Historic Landmark

by NYJ Team

Trinity Church, located at Broadway and Wall Street in lower Manhattan, is an active Episcopal parish with a long history. The third church to be built on the site, Trinity Church has been a beacon to ships arriving in New York Harbor as well as to area residents since it was established in 1698.

Trinity Church

Click for more details on Trinity Church

History

The original Trinity Church was built in 1698. At the time, it was one of the tallest buildings in Manhattan (hard to believe today) and the church’s spire acted as a beacon to ships arriving in New York Harbor. In 1709, the church began a charity school, whose first classes were held in the steeple of the church, and in 1754, a school of higher education, King’s College, was added. That school continues today as Columbia University.

The first Trinity Church was destroyed by a massive fire in 1776 that razed over 500 buildings in lower Manhattan. The second Trinity Church was completed in 1790 and counted George Washington among its parishioners. The second church was hastily constructed, however, and suffered extensive damage in a 1838 snowstorm. It was torn down in 1839.

The present Trinity Church was completed in 1846, designed by Richard Upjohn in the popular Gothic Revival style. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1976. Trinity continues to be an active, vibrant parish.

St. Paul’s Chapel, a nearby part of Trinity Church is the oldest public building in continuous use in New York City. Miraculously, the chapel, located across from the World Trade Center site, escaped damage during the 9/11 attacks and served as a community shelter and source of inspiration for thousands of New Yorkers during that difficult time.

Trinity Church is affiliated with three historic burial sites. The burial ground at Wall Street and Broadway is the final resting place for Alexander Hamilton and his wife, inventor Robert Fulton, printer William Bradford, and several members of the Continental Congress. The Church also maintains a cemetery at Riverside Drive and e.155th St., on the former estate of James Audubon. Mr. Audubon is buried there as well as several members of the Astor family, including John Jacob Astor IV who died on the “Titanic,” and Clement Clarke Moore, the author of “The Night Before Christmas.” The third is connected to St. Paul’s Chapel and is home to many historic, pre-Revolutionary War graves.

Community Outreach

In addition to its school, Trinity Church operates a preschool and day care center; the John Heuss Center, a 24-hour drop-in center for homeless, mentally ill, and mentally-frail residents; and St. Margaret’s House, an apartment-style complex for elderly and mobility impaired residents.

Music at Trinity

Music is an important part of the ministry at Trinity Church. The church’s “Concerts at One,” held since 1962, have become a tradition in the financial district. In addition, Trinity’s Sunday service and musical selections are broadcast on New York’s WQXR 96.3 FM each week.

Visiting Trinity Church

Trinity Church welcomes visitors of all denominations. The church is within an easy walk of New York’s Financial District as well as other sites in lower Manhattan, including South Street Seaport. The church can also be easily reached via bus, subway, or taxi.

Trinity Church holds several worship services daily including at least one Eucharist service. Free tours of Trinity Church are offered each day at 2pm. Visitors may also explore the adjoining museum, which houses exhibits about the church’s long and illustrious history. The museum is open Monday through Friday from 9am to 11:45am and from 1pm to 3:45pm. Weekend hours are Saturday from 10am to 3:45pm and Sunday from 1pm to 3:45pm. The museum, too, is free.

Location: 74 Trinity Place, New York, New York
Phone: 212 602-0800

Click to visit Trinity Church official website.

Pelham Bay Park | NYC’s Largest Park with 2,700+ Acres

by NYJ Team

The biggest park in New York City is located in the Bronx. Pelham Bay Park spans 2,700 acres, which is three times the size of Central Park. Loaded with things to see and do including two golf courses, playgrounds, biking and hiking trails, an equestrian center, and the Bartow-Pell Mansion, it is a fun-filled and picturesque destination.

Pelham Bay Park

Click for more details on Pelham Bay Park

Miles of Paths

Pelham Bay Park boasts a 13-mile shoreline which stretches around Long Island Sound. Nature enthusiasts and athletes have much to enjoy, as the park features many sports fields, bridle paths, lagoons to canoe and the popular Orchard Beach, the only public beach in the Bronx. This park is also a great place to see animal life in their natural habitat particularly the osprey.

The Bartow-Pell Mansion

This house sits on a piece of land that in 1654 was bought from Siwanoy Indians by English doctor Thomas Pell. The original 1670 structure, built by Pell’s nephew, was destroyed during the American Revolution. Publisher Robert Bartow, a Pell descendant, bought the estate in 1836 and built a mansion with a stunning Greek Revival interior. Restored in 1914, it opened as a museum in 1947. It is the only surviving estate out of several that looked out on Pelham Bay.

Visiting Pelham Bay Park in New York City

The park is located in the northeast corner of the Bronx. By subway take the IRT Number 6 line to Pelham Bay Park.
Location: Bronx, New York, USA
Phone: 718-430-1890

Click to visit Pelham Bay Park official website.

Note: This information can change without notice. Confirm all details directly with the company in question.

Riverside Park | Best Waterfront Views | NYC Gem

by NYJ Team

This gem of a park is home to the garden where Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan meet at the end of the popular Hollywood movie “You’ve Got Mail.” Riverside Park in Manhattan offers beautiful views of the Hudson River and offers anyone wanting some respite from the hectic New York City streets a perfect spot to run, bike or take a peaceful stroll.

Riverside Park

Click for more details on Riverside Park

The Best Waterfront Views

Everyone talks about Central Park in New York City, but Riverside Park is pretty special too! In fact, it’s often where those in the know escape to in the hot summer season when Central Park is bursting with people. It stretches four miles along the Hudson River from 72nd to 158th Streets, offering spectacular waterfront views. This beautiful winding stretch makes it a favorite destination for runners and bicyclers.

A public marina, the 79th Street Boat Basin, features a launch for canoes, kayaks and sailboats and is located in the park at the foot of West 79th Street.

Designed by a Legend

Riverside Park is one of only eight official scenic landmarks in New York City. It was designed by Frederick Law Olmsted, the same designer who planned Central Park and Prospect Park in Brooklyn. Often referred to as the father of American landscape architecture, Olmsted envisioned public spaces like Riverside Park as idyllic areas set apart from the busy city that anyone could enjoy, regardless of income level.

Over the years, the park has undergone several expansions including the addition of seven acres of land in 2000 (Riverside Park South) that features basketball courts, a soccer field and a public pier that stretches out over the Hudson River.

Things to do at Riverside Park

From dog runs to baseball diamonds, Riverside Park is simply bursting with great activities. Some highlights of the park include the Riverside Skate Park, which features five ramps with rails, half pipes and quarter pipes. The Skate Park is open from Thursday to Monday from May through October.

Riverside Park also features basketball, handball and tennis courts, two baseball fields, a beach volleyball area and three designated dog runs where dogs can play unleashed. And there are plenty of children’s playgrounds and eight spray showers throughout the park for your little ones to splash in when the weather heats up.

Notable Monuments

The eight-foot bronze and stone statue of human rights champion Eleanor Roosevelt (the first public statue of a First Lady in the U.S.) is located in Riverside Park at 72nd Street.

The Soldiers and Sailors Monument at 89th Street and Riverside Drive is a must-see for civil war buffs. Made of marble and granite, this New York City landmark soars 96 feet high and also serves as a memorial site for all those who fought in later wars.

The General Grant National Memorial, known as Grant’s Tomb, is the largest mausoleum in America and the second largest in the Western Hemisphere. It is the final resting place of the 18th President of the United States, President Ulysses S. Grant (whose portrait is on the U.S. $50 bill) and his wife Julia Dent Grant. Located at 122nd Street, the site is open daily from 9a.m. to 5p.m. with free guided tours available.

Places to Eat in Riverside Park

The seasonal Boat Basin Café is located in Riverside Park at the end of 79th Street. This casual outdoor restaurant overlooks the marina and the Hudson River. Those dining at dusk will enjoy beautiful views of the sun setting over New Jersey.

The Hudson Beach Cafe is another eatery open in the summer months, located in Riverside Park at W. 105th Street. There are also several food carts to grab a bite at throughout the park.

Visiting Riverside Park in Manhattan

Riverside Park stretches from Riverside Drive to the Hudson River from West 59th Street to Clair Place. For a detailed map of the park and a complete list of its sites and attractions, visit the Riverside Park information page at the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation website.

For more Riverside Park visitor information and a calendar of upcoming events taking place in the park, call 212-870-3070 or click here to visit the Riverside Park official website.

Note: This information can change without notice. Confirm all details directly with the company in question.