The museum is located upstairs from the Fraunces Tavern restaurant, which is a 1907 replica of the original 1796 tavern. Visitors can stand right where Washington stood in the famous Long Room of 1783. The museum features exhibitions of art and artifacts about New York City at the time of the Revolutionary War.
Washington's FarewellThe Fraunces Tavern was built in 1719 as a home for merchant Stephan Delancey and his family. It was then bought in 1762 by Samuel Fraunces, whose tavern-keeping savvy turned it into a major hotspot. It played a key role in many pre-Revolutionary activities and it was here that George Washington gave his farewell address to his officers at the end of the Revolution. After the war, the offices of the Departments of War, Treasury and Foreign Affairs were located here. The building was later returned to its colonial appearance by a preservation architect, and was opened to the public as a museum in 1907.
Visiting Fraunces Tavern Museum
Location: 54 Pearl Street, New York City, NY, 10004
Click here to visit Fraunces Tavern Museum official website
Note: This information can change without notice. Confirm all details directly with the company in question.